Sunday, November 30, 2014

{Review} Made for You by Lauren Layne



Made for You by Lauren Layne
Published: October 28th, 2014 by Forever
Series: The Best Mistake #2
Source: Netgalley (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: NA, Romance, Contemporary, Chick-Lit
Pages: 320

{Goodreads}{Amazon}
When the Wrong Guy is Oh-So-Right Will Thatcher is exactly the type of sexy playboy good girls like Brynn have always avoided. And yet there was still something about him she just couldn't resist. When Will moved across the country three years ago, Brynn vowed it was time to put him behind her. She never thought Will might have other plans . . . Back in town, Will intends to get what he's always wanted-gorgeous, unforgettable Brynn. For years, he tormented the untouchable ice princess in a desperate bid for her attention. Now he has a new plan, and he'll do anything to rewrite their stormy past. This time, he's out to show Brynn that the imperfect man might be the best mistake of her life . . .

{Review}
I really liked Layne’s first book in this series, Only with You, but I absolutely fell in love with Made for You.  This book reminded me of all of my favorite chick-lit movies that I love to watch over and over again!  I think this series would be great for readers who are new to the NA genre because, although it does have steamy scenes, they are less descriptive and intense than some other NA books that I have read.

Like the first book, I loved Layne’s writing style.  It is easy to read, entertaining, and has some very witty, funny dialogue.  The pacing was perfect and I never found myself wanting to put the book down.  I have to admit that this book really catered to everything that I love in a good NA book; however, it was a very predictable story.  I think that most NA contemporary romance books follow a very similar formula so it is expected to know how the story will end.

I think I loved this book so much more than the first was because of one person…Will Thatcher!  He was everything that I adore in a swoon-worthy main character.  He was handsome, smart, and full of witty comebacks.  I loved reading the chapters that were in Will’s perspective because they were so funny and entertaining.  I also really enjoyed Brynn as the main protagonist.  I could relate to her control-freak, perfectionism more than I could to Sophie’s laid-back, go-with-the-flow nature.  I did occasionally get annoyed with Brynn’s decision making skills, but it did add conflict to the book and did not take away too much from me enjoying it. 

I am also really excited for the next installment because it was pretty obvious who Layne was hinting at who the next book would center around.  Although I liked already knowing Brynn and Will from the first book, it is also exciting getting to be introduced to some new characters.

Overall, I would absolutely recommend this book to readers, especially those new to NA books.  I think that some veterans in the NA genre will find this book to be predictable, but it is still really enjoyable and worth the read.  I plan on continuing on with the series, as well as trying out some of Layne’s other books. 


{Rating}







Check out Lauren Layne's other books and stay up to date on her newest releases by checking out her website here.  Also, all of Layne's eBooks on Amazon are $2.99 (click here), which is such a great deal for amazing books!






 

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

{Waiting on Wednesday} The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons



“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking theSpine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons
Release Date: February 10th, 2015
Genre: YA, Sci-Fi, Dystopian
Published by: Tor Teen
Pages: 336

About The Book
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group of women on the run from the men who hunt them, men who want to auction off breeding rights to the highest bidder.

In a world where females are scarce and are hunted, then bought and sold at market for their breeding rights, 15-year old Aya has learned how to hide. With a ragtag bunch of other women and girls, she has successfully avoided capture and eked out a nomadic but free existence in the mountains. But when Aya’s luck runs out and she’s caught by a group of businessmen on a hunting expedition, fighting to survive takes on a whole new meaning.,

Why I Want To Read This Book
This is one of my most anticipated book releases of 2015!  The main character sounds like she is going to be strong and awesome!  The premise of this book sounds so interesting and good.  I cannot wait to get my hands on a copy of this book!!!

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

{Waiting on Wednesday} Twisted Fate by Norah Olson

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

Twisted Fate by Norah Olson
Release Date: January 20th, 2015
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Mystery
Published by: Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 272

About The Book
When Alyson meets Graham Copeland, the new boy next door, she instantly feels like he’s a kindred spirit—shy and awkward like her, someone who has trouble making friends. It’s impossible to resist having a crush on him.

As usual, her sister, Sydney, sees things differently. In Sydney's mind, Graham's odd personality and secretive past scream psychopath, not sweetheart. Her gut is telling her to stay away from him, and to protect a love-struck Alyson from her own naïveté. But despite her instincts, Sydney is surprised to realize that a part of her is drawn to Graham, too.

And the more Sydney gets to know him, the more she realizes just how right—and wrong—she is about everything.

Perfect for fans of Michelle Hodkin, and E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars, Twisted Fate is an unputdownable novel, teeming with suspense.

Why I Want To Read This Book
Ummm….this sounds amazing!!!  I NEED this book.  I love mystery books and this one sounds so interesting.  I have NO idea what could possibly be going on in this book, but I want to find out!

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

{Wrap-Up} October Scary Reads

This is a list of the books I completed in October.  I have listed them from least enjoyed to favorite. Make sure to check out my reviews for each of the books listed below. This month I entered a huge reading slump after reading some not so great books, so this month I did not read that much.
 
2 Stars {Review}
 
4 Stars {Review}
 
4 Stars {Review}
 
4 Stars {Review}
 
 Favorite Book Of October...
5 Stars {Review}

{Waiting on Wednesday} Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff



“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we are eagerly anticipating.

Playlist for the Dead 
by Michelle Falkoff
Release Date: January 27th, 2015
Genre: YA, Contemporary
Published by: HarperTeen
Pages: 288


About The Book
A teenage boy tries to understand his best friend's suicide by listening to the playlist of songs he left behind in this smart, voice-driven debut novel.


Here's what Sam knows: There was a party. There was a fight. The next morning, his best friend, Hayden, was dead. And all he left Sam was a playlist of songs, and a suicide note: For Sam—listen and you'll understand.

As he listens to song after song, Sam tries to face up to what happened the night Hayden killed himself. But it's only by taking out his earbuds and opening his eyes to the people around him that he will finally be able to piece together his best friend’s story. And maybe have a chance to change his own.

Part mystery, part love story, and part coming-of-age tale in the vein of Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Tim Tharp’s The Spectacular Now, Playlist for the Dead is an honest and gut-wrenching first novel about loss, rage, what it feels like to outgrow a friendship that's always defined you—and the struggle to redefine yourself. But above all, it's about finding hope when hope seems like the hardest thing to find.

Why I Want To Read This Book
I don’t read a lot of YA contemporaries, but this one sounds great.  I love that it has a mystery, but still seems to have deeper themes.  I think this one sounds really, really good!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...