Saturday, December 26, 2015

{Review} Queen of Tomorrow by Sherry Ficklin



Queen of Tomorrow by Sherry Ficklin
Published: July 14th, 2015 by Clean Teen Publishing
Series: Stolen Empire #2
Source: Netgalley (in exchange for an honest review)
Genre: YA, Historical Romance
Pages: 280
{Goodreads}{Amazon}

Sophie—now Catherine, Grand Duchess of Russia—had a tough first year at Imperial Court. Married at sixteen to Grand Duke Peter, heir to the throne, and settled in their own palace, things are finally looking up. As a new day dawns, she thinks only of securing her future, and the future of their country, during one of the greatest political upheavals of her time. Fighting desperately against forces trying to depose the Empress Elizabeth and put the young Prince Ivan on her throne, Sophie soon finds herself in the middle of a war brewing between her beloved Prussia, and her new empire. But even as she navigates the fragile political landscape, she quickly realizes that she has only begun to discover the tangled web of deceit and infidelity woven over the lavish court of Oranienbaum Palace.

When a strange and delicate alliance forms between the young couple, she glimpses a future of happiness, only to see it lost in a moment at the hands of those who still seek to end her life—and prevent her reign. Out of favor with the empress and running out of options, Sophie will have to sacrifice her own innocence on the altar of Russia if she is to save the nation, and herself. To survive, she will have to do the unthinkable, betray those closest to her and become something greater and more dangerous than she ever imagined she could be… a queen.

{Review}
This book was just as great as the first.  This was the book series that got me addicted to reading historical fiction.  After having read the first book in this great series, I ran out and bought as many YA historical fiction books that I could get my hands on.  I can’t wait to see what happens in the concluding book in this series.

The writing in this book was amazing.  It was full of beautiful descriptions without being too wordy.  The book flowed so perfectly, with fast-paced thrills and dark intense scenes.  I can’t believe that Ficklin was able to squeeze so much plot into such a short book.  I felt like so much happened in this book, which was great because there was no fluff that didn’t drive the plot forward.

I really love the setting of this story, although I know very little about the real Catherine.  I really liked the politics in this book, but I got confused several times because the book was written as if the reader already should know the history of the countries.  I wish that there was more set up so that I could have fully been absorbed into that aspect of the book.     

I loved the character development in this book.  This book has some of the best character development that I have ever read.  Catherine’s personal character growth is inspiring.  I love how gracefully she is able to navigate court politics and forbidden romance.  I also liked that this book gave a little more insight into Price Peter’s character.  In the first book, I really didn’t feel anything toward Peter other than distaste, but this book made me feel more empathetic towards what he has had to endure.   

Overall, I really liked the second installment in this wonderful series.  I think that this book series would be a great introduction into YA historical fiction.  I am also really excited that Ficklin has other books she has written that I am planning on picking up. 


{Rating}

Check out the other books in Stolen Empire Series! 

Sunday, December 13, 2015

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard



Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
Published: February 10th, 2015 by Orion
Series: Red Queen #1                                                                                    
Source: Library
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance
Pages: 383

{Goodreads}

This is a world divided by blood - red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare's potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance - Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart...

{Review}
The first thing that caught my eye about this book was its gorgeous cover!  I have to say, I was a little hesitant going into this book because I have heard either rave reviews or ones that absolutely hated it, however, I am happy to say that I was one of the readers who loved it!  I would not say that this book is the most original story, but I highly enjoyed it. 

I liked the world that Aveyard created; however, I wish that it would have been a little more intricate.  I never really felt immersed like I wish I would have.  I felt like this book just scratched the surface, but I am hopeful that the next book will explore the world more in-depth. 

I really enjoyed the plot, even though I realize that it was not the most original.  I thought that it was fast-paced and action packed.  I also thought that the plot twists were really good.  I think that a lot of people could see them coming, but they were still fun.

The romance in this book was good.  There is a love triangle and forbidden love in this book.  I felt like the love triangle was only slight, but I still think it might irritate people who hate them.  I liked that there was no inst-love and the feelings felt genuine. 

Overall, I really liked this book and will continue on with the series.  I think that readers who loved The Selection series or Throne of Glass will enjoy this book.  I am also hoping that this book gets picked up to be a movie and look forward to continuing on with this series.

 {Rating}




 Check out the second book in this series, as well as the novellas. 



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...