Sunday, December 13, 2015

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard



Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
Published: February 10th, 2015 by Orion
Series: Red Queen #1                                                                                    
Source: Library
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance
Pages: 383

{Goodreads}

This is a world divided by blood - red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare's potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance - Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart...

{Review}
The first thing that caught my eye about this book was its gorgeous cover!  I have to say, I was a little hesitant going into this book because I have heard either rave reviews or ones that absolutely hated it, however, I am happy to say that I was one of the readers who loved it!  I would not say that this book is the most original story, but I highly enjoyed it. 

I liked the world that Aveyard created; however, I wish that it would have been a little more intricate.  I never really felt immersed like I wish I would have.  I felt like this book just scratched the surface, but I am hopeful that the next book will explore the world more in-depth. 

I really enjoyed the plot, even though I realize that it was not the most original.  I thought that it was fast-paced and action packed.  I also thought that the plot twists were really good.  I think that a lot of people could see them coming, but they were still fun.

The romance in this book was good.  There is a love triangle and forbidden love in this book.  I felt like the love triangle was only slight, but I still think it might irritate people who hate them.  I liked that there was no inst-love and the feelings felt genuine. 

Overall, I really liked this book and will continue on with the series.  I think that readers who loved The Selection series or Throne of Glass will enjoy this book.  I am also hoping that this book gets picked up to be a movie and look forward to continuing on with this series.

 {Rating}




 Check out the second book in this series, as well as the novellas. 



No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...